SKCC Faculty Among Sidney Kimmel Medical College 2018 Faculty Award Honorees


The Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center at Jefferson Health congratulates its faculty who were among the honorees of this year’s Sidney Kimmel Medical College (SKMC) at Thomas Jefferson University faculty awards. SKMC offers a number of awards to faculty to recognize various accomplishments throughout the year.

The Faculty Awards Dinner was held May 16 at the Union League of Philadelphia. Mark L. Tykocinski, MD, Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs at Thomas Jefferson University and The Anthony F. and Gertrude M. DePalma Dean, Sidney Kimmel Medical College at Thomas Jefferson University, presented the awards.

The Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center awardees are:

Michael and Melina Pellini Award for Innovation in the Biomedical Sciences

  • D. Craig Hooper, PhD

SKMC Outstanding Clinician Awards

  • Kristine Swartz, MD, for Primary Care
  • Andrew Chapman, DO, for Subspecialty Medicine
  • James J. Evans, MD, for Surgery and Surgical Subspecialties

The Marjorie A. Bowman, MD, ’76, Early Career Investigator Award for Primary Care Research

  • Amy Leader, PhD, MPH

SKMC Faculty Team Achievement Award for Cancer Metabolism Research

  • Ubaldo Martinez-Outschoorn, MD
  • Joseph Curry, MD

SKMC Faculty Team Achievement Award, as part of the JeffMD Transition Team

  • Marlana Orloff, MD
  • Christopher Snyder, PhD

SKMC Dean’s Award for Excellence in Education

  • Michael Root, MD, PhD
  • Lauren Hersh, MD
  • John Liantonio, MD
  • Brooke Worster, MD
  • Jennifer Johnson, MD, PhD
  • Marlana Orloff, MD
  • Maria P. Martinez-Cantarin, MD
  • Christopher Snyder, PhD
  • Christopher J. Farrell, MD
  • David Eschelman, MD
  • Alexander Sevrukov, MD
  • Melissa A. Lazar, MD
  • Alliric Willis, MD

SKMC Dean’s Award for Faculty Mentoring

  • Takami Sato, MD, PhD

The Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award presented by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation

  • Brooke Worster, MD