Scott Waldman Named a 2017 Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors

Scott A. Waldman, MD, PhD, Co-Leader of the Gastrointestinal Cancer Program at the Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center at Jefferson and Chair of the Department of Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics at Thomas Jefferson University, has been named a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI). Waldman is a leader in clinical pharmacology, whose groundbreaking research …


Understanding Chemotherapy Resistance in Pancreatic Cancer

A collaborative study involving Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center at Jefferson (SKCC) investigators, together with colleagues from the University of California at San Diego, has provided important insights into how pancreatic cancer cells are able to resist the effects of chemotherapeutic agents. The new study, published in Cancer Research, was led by senior author Jordan Winter, MD, FACS, Associate Professor of …


RNA-Regulated Mechanism Validated as a Target in GI Tract Cancers

Investigators from the Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center at Jefferson, Thomas Jefferson University, and Drexel University have uncovered a critical regulatory mechanism involved in pancreatic and colorectal cancer progression. The study results were recently published in Molecular Cancer Research. The researchers investigated the role of the RNA-binding protein HuR (also known as ELAVL1) in gastrointestinal (GI) …


Dr. Myers Invited To Share His Research At Preventive Oncology Meeting

Ronald Myers, PhD, Professor of Medical Onocology, was invited to share his work on CRC screening as one of 3 “Best of CEBP” presentations at the recent American Society for Preventive Oncology 39th Annual Meeting in Birmingham, Alabama on March 16, 2015. For more about the ASPO meeting see the agenda  


CancerCare Awards Dr. Edith Mitchell With Physician Of The Year Award

The national nonprofit CancerCare presented its Physician of the Year Awards to two nationally recognized leaders in oncology and cancer patient care during its annual “Tribute to Our Friends” awards ceremony, held on September 30 at CancerCare’s national office in New York City. On of the “Physician of the Year Awards” was presented top Dr. …